Applications Are Welcome Through April 15 For 2014 American Civic Education Teacher Awards

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. – April 15 is the application deadline for teachers who wish to be considered for the 2014 American Civic Education Teacher Awards (ACETA).

The awards are given annually to elementary and secondary teachers of civics, government and related fields who have demonstrated exceptional expertise, dynamism and creativity in motivating students to learn about Congress, the Constitution, and public policy.

The ACETA program is jointly sponsored by the Center on Congress at Indiana University, the Center for Civic Education, and the National Education Association.

Each year the ACETA program selects and showcases three teachers who are doing exemplary work in preparing young people to become informed and engaged citizens. Applicants must be full-time classroom teachers of grades K-12.

Applications for the 2014 Awards must be postmarked no later than Tuesday, April 15. There is no fee to apply. In addition to a resume and “self-portrait” essay, applicants must submit three letters of recommendation — two from teaching peers and one from their school principal. The application form can be found here.

The selected teachers will join a distinguished group of 24 prior honorees who have been chosen since the program began in 2006. The previous ACETA awardees are:

David Alcox (Milford High School and Applied Technology Center, Milford, N.H.)

Jim Bentley (Foulks Ranch Elementary School, Elk Grove, Calif.)

Nate Breen (Cheyenne Central High School, Cheyenne, Wyo.)

Sally Broughton (Monforton Elementary School, Bozeman, Mont.)

Christopher Cavanaugh (Plainfield High School, Plainfield, Ind.)

Kevin Cline (Frankton Jr. Sr. High School, Frankton, Ind.)

Cheryl Cook-Kallio (Irvington High School, Fremont, Calif.)

Mary Ellen Daneels (Community High School, West Chicago, Ill.)

Barbara Simpson Ector (Cleveland Middle School, Cleveland, Tenn.)

Jaime Festa-Daigle (Lake Havasu High School, Lake Havasu City, Ariz.) 

Kevin Fox (Arcadia High School, Arcadia, Calif.)

Milton Hyams (Incline High School, Incline Village, Nev.)

Nancy Peterson (Gilbert High School, Gilbert, Iowa)

Cindy Jarrett (Durant Road Elementary School, Raleigh, N.C.)

Tamara Johnson (Kettle Moraine High School, Wales, Wis.)

Julie Kuhnhein (Highlands High School, Fort Thomas, Ky.)

Galelyn McElroy (Central High School Magnet Career Academy, Louisville, Ky.)

Richard Ochoa (Alta High School, Sandy, Utah)

Mark Oglesby (Howell High School, Howell, Mich.)

Douglas Oswald (Marion Technical Institute, Ocala, Fla.)

Donna Paoletti Phillips (Robert Frost Middle School, Rockville, Md.)

Sarah Ann Richardson Turpin (Clemson Elementary School, Clemson, S.C.)

Jackie Viana (Hialeah Gardens Middle School, Hialeah Gardens, Fla.)

Gregory Walsh (Falls Church High School, Falls Church, Va.)

About the Sponsoring Organizations

The Center on Congress is a nonpartisan educational institution established in 1999 to help improve the public’s understanding of Congress and to encourage civic engagement.

The Center for Civic Education is a nonprofit, nonpartisan educational organization dedicated to fostering the development of informed, responsible participation in civic life by citizens committed to values and principles fundamental to American constitutional democracy.

The National Education Association is the nation’s largest professional employee organization, representing 3.2 million elementary and secondary teachers, higher education faculty, education support professionals, school administrators, retired educators and students preparing to become teachers.