Applications Are Welcome Through February 23 For 2009 American Civic Education Teacher Awards



Applications Are Welcome Through February 23
For 2009 American Civic Education Teacher Awards

ACETA Instructions and Application

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - February 23 is the application deadline for individuals who wish to be considered for the 2009 American Civic Education Teacher Awards (ACETA).

The Awards are given annually to elementary and secondary teachers of civics, government and related fields who have demonstrated exceptional expertise, dynamism and creativity in motivating students to learn about Congress, the Constitution, and public policy.

The ACETA program is jointly sponsored by the Center on Congress at Indiana University, the Center for Civic Education, and the National Education Association.

Each year the ACETA program selects and showcases three teachers who are doing exemplary work in preparing young people to become informed and engaged citizens. Applicants must be full-time classroom teachers of grades K-12. The honored teachers receive an all-expenses-paid trip to Washington, D.C., in July to participate in an educational program that includes observing floor sessions and committee hearings in Congress, meeting members of Congress and other key officials, and visiting sites such as the National Archives and the U.S. Supreme Court. The winners also are recognized at a national conference of civic educators.

Applications for the 2009 Awards must be postmarked no later than Monday, Feb. 23. There is no fee to apply. In addition to a two-page "self-portrait" essay, applicants must submit three letters of recommendation - two from teaching peers and one from their school principal. The application form is at

Since the ACETA program was established in 2006, nine teachers have won the award: Sally Broughton (Monforton Elementary School, Bozeman, Mont.); Christopher Cavanaugh (Plainfield High School, Plainfield, Ind.); Cheryl Cook-Kallio (Irvington High School, Fremont, Calif.); Mary Ellen Daneels (Community High School, West Chicago, Ill.); Barbara Simpson Ector (Cleveland Middle School, Cleveland, Tenn.); Kevin Fox (Arcadia High School, Arcadia, Calif.); Julie Kuhnhein (Highlands High School, Fort Thomas, Ky.); Galelyn McElroy (Central High School Magnet Career Academy, Louisville, Ky.); and Donna Paoletti Phillips (Robert Frost Middle School, Rockville, Md.)

About the Sponsoring Organizations

The Center on Congress ( is a nonpartisan educational institution established in 1999 to help improve the public's understanding of Congress and to encourage civic engagement.

The Center for Civic Education ( is a nonprofit, nonpartisan educational organization dedicated to fostering the development of informed, responsible participation in civic life by citizens committed to values and principles fundamental to American constitutional democracy.

The National Education Association ( is the nation's largest professional employee organization, representing 3.2 million elementary and secondary teachers, higher education faculty, education support professionals, school administrators, retired educators and students preparing to become teachers.

ACETA Instructions and Application